Memorial Day 2008

May 29, 2008

By Doug Patton

I will remember the 4,435 Americans who died revolting against the tyranny of King George in the American Revolution.

I will remember the 2,260 Americans who died fighting the British again in the War of 1812.

I will remember the 13,283 Americans who died in the Mexican War.

I will remember the 558,052 Americans, on both sides, who died in our bloodiest war, the war between the Union and the Confederacy.

I will remember the 2,246 Americans who died in the Spanish-American War.

I will remember the 116,708 Americans who died fighting German aggression in World War I.

I will remember the 407,316 Americans who died defeating fascism in Europe and imperialism in the Pacific during World War II.

I will remember the 33,651 Americans who died battling North Korea.

I will remember the 58,168 Americans who died in Vietnam, including my best friend from high school, killed by a sniper in June of 1968, at the tender age of 20.

I will remember the 293 Americans who died driving Saddam Hussein out of Kuwait during the Gulf War.

I will remember the 2,464 Americans who were murdered by our Islamist enemies at the World Trade Center, the Pentagon and in a field in Pennsylvania on September 11, 2001.

I will remember the 506 Americans who have died so far liberating and securing Afghanistan.

I will remember the 4,081 Americans who have died liberating and securing Iraq.

“Every post is honorable in which a man can serve his country. “

— President George Washington, Sept. 14, 1775

Leave a Reply

