Today I voted for myself …

July 28, 2008

In Kansas if you want to be a Republican precinct person one has to file & run in the primary every two years. I’ll probably win since no one else ran this year. This is my 14th year being involved in Kansas Republican politics.

What exactly does a Republican precinct woman do ? The minimum is to attend the Republican county re-organization meeting every two years and vote for a conservative central committee. One can also be elected to attend District & State meetings. So far I’ve stayed within the county. Maybe some day. Most of the District & State meetings are in December & January and take place in Wichita & Topeka.

I’ve worked for Todd Tiahrt’s campaign for 14 years.

I’ve sat in the Republican booth at the fair in late July & early August.

I’ve volunteered to pass out signs & sit in the building where signs are offered.

I’ve written letters to the editor decrying political bigots. What is that ? I’ll define it in a future post.

There is only one perk. President Bush has sent us 3 Christmas cards.

“I hold the precepts of Jesus as delivered by Himself,

to be the most pure, benevolent

and sublime which have ever been preached to man.”

— President Thomas Jefferson, Nov. 4, 1820

Leave a Reply

